Getting SharePoint libraries to sync to Windows desktop using OneDrive

I am now attempting to follow Microsoft Tech Support’s recommendation:

  1. Install a Registry entry. Instructions here.
  2. Open command prompt and type the following commands:
    1. %localappdata%\Microsoft\OneDrive\onedrive.exe /reset
    2. %localappdata%\Microsoft\OneDrive\onedrive.exe
  3. Enter credentials and try to sync files again

The Registry Entry part has me download a .reg file containing the following lines:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\OneDrive]
"TeamSiteSyncPreview"=dword:00000001

The file downloaded with a .txt filename extension and so I had to first change this to .reg. Then, I double clicked the file and OK’d through the dialog boxes. When completed, I got a confirmation message saying that the registry entry was added successfully.

Executing the commands at the command prompt shutdown and restarted the OneDrive client. I have two OneDrive for Business drives sync’d to my desktop — both were shut down by the first command and both were started by the second command.

Upon starting, the OneDrive clients appear to be checking each file for changes.

Next, I logged into portal.office.com via both Internet Explorer and Firefox. I then opened OneDrive and went into my SharePoint library. I first tried clicking the “Sync” link in Internet Explorer, which did not work. I next tried the same in Firefox, and got the following popup:

sharepoint sync after onedrive registry and reset

“Microsoft OneDrive” is the option that worked — “OneDrive.exe” just opened up my existing synced OneDrive on my hard drive.

And now, all is well and the SharePoint library has synced to my local hard drive!

Leave a Reply

